1. People
  2. Students
  3. Alex Powell

Alex Powell

Alex Powell

Research student Alex is working on the Cultural Construction of Legal Personhood: Intersections of Gender, Sexuality, and National Identity.

PhD thesis title: The Cultural Construction of Legal Personhood: Intersections of Gender, Sexuality, and National Identity


Research Overview

Alex's research focuses on the experiences of LGBT asylum seekers, utilising a series of interviews in combination with theoretical perspectives to better understand the borders of legal personhood. Further, he seeks to discern the ways in which identity categories are culturally constructed and how these constructions limit the ability of those not conforming to stereotypical representations of identity to have access to legal entities.


Alex is a recipient of a Graduate Teaching Assistantship from The City Law school. He received his LLB from the University of Reading, graduating with First Class Honours in 2016. He then attended Birkbeck, University of London, completing an LLM in Constitutional Politics, Law, and Theory, for which he received a Distinction.

During his time at Birkbeck, Alex wrote his dissertation on the relationship between rising nationalism and citizenship. He has continued to focus on the interaction of nationalism and personhood within his current research. Alex's main research interests include: feminist and queer approaches to legal analysis; gender and law; constitutional theory and jurisprudence; and critical approaches to criminal law.


  • Socio-Legal Studies Association

Conference Attendance and Contributions

  • Demystifying Secularization, Birkbeck University of London, 16th June 2017 (attendee)


  • Alex is a tutorial leader on both the Criminal Law (LLB1) and English Legal Systems (LLB1) modules (2017)

Find us

City, University of London

Northampton Square

London EC1V 0HB

United Kingdom

Back to top

City, University of London is an independent member institution of the University of London. Established by Royal Charter in 1836, the University of London consists of 18 independent member institutions with outstanding global reputations and several prestigious central academic bodies and activities.