1. Events
  2. 2016
  3. September
  4. Michael Finnissy at 70: The Piano Music (5) – Ian Pace




Michael Finnissy at 70: The Piano Music (5) – Ian Pace




Free to attend; please book a place.

Ian Pace continues his series devoted to the solo piano music of Michael Finnissy, in celebration of the composer’s seventieth year.

There will be two concerts (each around one-hour long) juxtaposing the two sets of Gershwin Arrangements, with a pair of Finnissy’s solo piano concerti, including the astonishing Piano Concerto No. 4, which Pace describes as “by some measure Finnissy’s most manically virtuosic piece”.

Concert one - 6:00 pm


Piano Concerto No. 6 for solo piano (1980-81)
Love is here to stay (first version) (1975-76)
Gershwin Arrangements (1975-88)

Concert two - 7:30 pm


Please pay some attention to me (1998)
More Gershwin (1989-90)
Piano Concerto No. 4 for solo piano (1978, rev. 1996)

For background information on the event, please see Ian Pace’s blog.

Share this event

When and where

6.00pm - 8.30pmTuesday 27th September 2016

Performance Space College Building City, University of London St John Street London EC1V 4PB United Kingdom

Booking Form

Sorry, an error occurred.

Form not found.