1. Events
  2. 2015
  3. October
  4. Lost/Gardens: Jane Sheldon (soprano) and Zubin Kanga (piano)




Lost/Gardens: Jane Sheldon (soprano) and Zubin Kanga (piano)





New York-based soprano, Jane Sheldon joins London-based pianist, Zubin Kanga to present a recital of modern German masterpieces written a century apart. Arnold Schoenberg’s Das Buch der hängenden Gärten, Op. 15 (“The Book of the Hanging Gardens”, 1909) is one of his first atonal works, yet still full of the lyricism and grandeur of his earlier music. Helmut Lachenmann’s Got Lost (2009) is a virtuosic tour de force for both performers, with the composer drawing on his huge catalogue of extended techniques while deforming, ripping apart and recombining a diverse set of texts by Friedrich Nietzsche, Fernando Pessoa, and an anonymous note about a lost laundry basket.

Zubin Kanga will also perform two solo piano works. Alban Berg’s Sonata Op. 1 (1910), written while studying under Schoenberg, is a formidable debut by the young composer, full of tightly wound intensity. Collector (2015) by US-based Australian composer, Charlie Sdraulig, will receive its premiere. It takes Lachenmann’s approach to the piano to an extreme with an elaborate pianistic choreography around unconventional techniques that border on silence.


  • Alban Berg - Sonata, Op. 1
  • Arnold Schoenberg - Das Buch der hängenden Gärten (“The Book of the Hanging Gardens”), Op. 15


  • Charlie Sdraulig - collector (world premiere)
  • Helmut Lachenmann - Got Lost


Book your place using our online form.

Share this event

When and where

7.00pmTuesday 6th October 2015

Performance Space College Building City, University of London St John Street London EC1V 4PB United Kingdom

Booking Form

Your call to City University's form service returned an unexpected HTTP status of:404
Please contact our web team and we'll do our best to help you ASAP.