1. Events
  2. 2014
  3. November
  4. Persephone Gibbs (violin) & Ian Pace (piano)




Persephone Gibbs (violin) & Ian Pace (piano)




Series: City University London Concert Series

This concert brings together for the first time a unique partnership between violinist Persephone Gibbs, a well-known figure through the field of early music and historically-informed performance, and new music specialist, City University Lecturer and researcher into nineteenth-century performance Ian Pace. Their concert features two classic sonatas for violin and piano, in between which there is a rare chance to hear one Robert Schumann's transcription of Bach's solo violin and cello works with added piano accompaniment.


Johannes Brahms - Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano in A major, op. 100 (1886)

Johann Sebastian Bach - Violin Sonata No. 2 in A minor, with piano accompaniment by Robert Schumann (1852-53)

Ludwig van Beethoven, Sonata No. 9 for Violin and Piano in A, op. 47, 'Kreutzer' (1802-3)

Share this event

When and where

7.00pm - 8.30pmTuesday 4th November 2014

Performance Space College Building City, University of London St John Street London EC1V 4PB United Kingdom

Contact Details

Concerts Manager

Contact the organiser

Booking Form

About you

Provide full name rather than an initial

Must be valid email address

Guest details

Provide full name rather than an initial