1. News
  2. 2014
  3. January
  4. City University London student wins at the International Academy of Web Television Awards
News from City, University of London

City University London student wins at the International Academy of Web Television Awards

Nikki Racklin takes prestigious Best Writing (Drama) prize

Nikki Racklin, a second-year student on the Masters (MA) in Creative Writing (Playwriting and Screenwriting) at City University London, has won the Best Writing (Drama) award for her web series CUCKOO at the International Academy of Web Television (IAWTV) Awards.

In winning, she beat big Hollywood names Rodrigo Garcia, (Albert Nobbs, In Treatment, Big Love) and Jon Avnet, (Black Swan, Fried Green Tomatoes, Risky Business).

Nikki says: "It is a complete thrill to win this award and I am honoured to be among illustrious Hollywood company. Web series are clearly a big part of the future of television and it's exciting that CUCKOO is already reaching so many viewers. It is always a buzz to see your words come to life on screen.

"Doing the MA at City has been an invaluable experience in terms of what I can accomplish as a writer, helping me refine the tools I need to walk the walk, not just talk the talk."

Phil O'Shea, course director for the MA says: "It is absolutely brilliant that one of our students has won this award. Even though Nikki has been writing for a number of years, her success at the IAWTV demonstrates how the two year MA course takes students on an extraordinary creative journey and I am thrilled for her that her hard work has gained such prestigious recognition."

As well as completing her studies at City, Nikki is currently working on a feature-film script, and hopes to write for British TV, while developing her US contacts with a view to writing further web series and films.

Share this article

Find us

City, University of London

Northampton Square

London EC1V 0HB

United Kingdom

Back to top

City, University of London is an independent member institution of the University of London. Established by Royal Charter in 1836, the University of London consists of 18 independent member institutions with outstanding global reputations and several prestigious central academic bodies and activities.