1. News
  2. 2013
  3. April
  4. Journalism graduate wins prestigious Washington Post fellowship
News from City, University of London

Journalism graduate wins prestigious Washington Post fellowship

Billy Kenber, a graduate of City's MA in Investigative Journalism course, wins the Laurence Stern Fellowship award.

by Ben Sawtell

nullBilly Kenber, a graduate of City's unique MA in Investigative Journalism, currently working for The Times in Westminster, has won this year's prestigious Laurence Stern Fellowship award. The award carries with it a three month internship at the Washington Post, which will begin this summer.

The internship was established in honour of Post journalist, Laurence Stern. A fund for the program is managed by the National Press Foundation. Past winners include Today (BBC Radio 4) presenter James Naughtie, Financial Times editor Lionel Barber and Guardian columnist Jonathan Freedland.

The fellowship is the second major award that Billy has received for his work since graduating from City. In 2011 he was awarded the Hugh Cudlipp award in recognition of his 5,000 word piece on the mistreatment of failed asylum seekers originally written for his MA project and which was subsequently published as a special investigation in The Independent in July 2010.

Billy's success also makes it two in a row for City graduates as he follows in the footsteps of last year's Laurence Stern Fellow James Ball, also an alumnus of City Journalism.

On receiving his award Billy said: "It's a great privilege to be given this fantastic opportunity and I am very much looking forward to experiencing life in an American newsroom in the summer."

Anthony Faiola, London Bureau Chief for the Washington Post, said: "We're thrilled Billy will be the next Laurence Stern fellow. His energy, ingenuity and keen journalistic sense truly honors the legacy of Stern and the long list of established British journalists who have gone to Washington on this fellowship."

Head of Journalism at City, Professor George Brock, said: "City's high-powered alumni have won the Laurence Stern two years running and the Hugh Cudlipp Award three years in a row. I think those facts speak for themselves."

Share this article