Learning Enhancement and Development
  1. About & Contacts
  2. Events
  3. Learning spaces
  4. Qualifications & accreditation
  5. LEaDER Centre
  6. LEaD projects
  7. Academic Learning Support
  1. RISES
Learning Enhancement and Development

RISES-Recognising Individual Staff Education Status

The RISES programme provides a CPD route to gaining HEA fellowship from Associate Fellow through to Principal Fellow.

RISES route to HEA Fellowship

LEaD has gained accreditation for the RISES programme through the Higher Education Academy. The programme offers City staff the opportunity to gain HEA fellowship via a CPD portfolio route.

The scheme is open to both full and part time City, University of London Staff (academic and professional services) whose role includes learning and teaching or supporting learning and  teaching.

Online Workshops via Microsoft Teams

A series of introductory workshops run each year. At the workshop the different catergories of Fellowship and the requirements to achieve each will be explained. You will then be provided with a mentor to support your writing.

RISES 2020-21  Introductory workshops Times
Monday 21st September 202014:00 – 15:30
Thursday 1st October 202014:00 – 15:30
Friday 6th November 202014:00 – 15:30
Monday 14th December 202010:00 – 11:30
Thursday 7th January 202114:00 – 15:30
Wednesday 3rd February 202110.00 – 11.30
Monday 1st March 202114:00 – 15:30
Monday 12th April 202114:00 – 15:30
Thursday 20th May 202110:00 – 11:30
Tuesday 1st June 202114:00 – 15:30
Thursday 22nd July 202114:00 – 15:30

If you are interested in attending one of these workshops please complete the booking form via the link below and then save the time of the workshop you have selected in your outlook calendar. We will normally send a confirmation email with a link to a Teams meeting no later than 5 working days before the workshop – if you don’t receive this please contact LEaDEvents@city.ac.uk

RISES Introductory Workshop booking form

Writing Retreats - cancelled for rest of 2019/20

Please note that even though the writing retreats are cancelled the team are available to offer advice and look over what you have already written. If you contact us via LEaDEvents@city.ac.uk and we can forward your details onto our team.

LEaD offers support and advice throughout the process and also provides an opportunity for you to attend a half-day writing retreat to work on your submission. To participate in these you need to have attended an introductory workshop so you know which category of Fellowship you are writing your application for and you need to have registered using the form on the moodle module.

If you would like to attend for the whole of a day, simply book the consecutive sessions.

RISES Writing Retreats booking form

Writing Retreats 2019-20  workshops Times
Thursday 14th November 201910:00 – 13:00 or 14:00 – 17:00
Friday 15th November 201910:00 – 13:00 or 14:00 – 17:00
Friday 6th December 2019  - cancelled10:00 – 13:00 or 14:00 – 17:00
Thursday 9th January 201910:00 – 13:00 or 14:00 – 17:00
Friday 10th January 202010:00 – 13:00 or 14:00 – 17:00
Thursday 13th February 202013:00 – 16:00
Friday 14th February 202010:00 – 13:00
Friday 27th March 2020 - cancelled10:00 – 13:00
Friday 19th June 2020 - cancelled10:00 – 13:00
Thursday 2nd July 2020 - cancelled10:00 – 13:00 or 14:00 – 17:00
Friday 3rd July 2020 - cancelled10:00 – 13:00 or 14:00 – 17:00

Testimonial

Read about Dr Rachael-Anne Knight's journey to Principal Fellow here:

LEaD Blog  - RISES Programme for Principal Fellowship of the HEA