1. About our research
  2. Spotlight on research
  3. Research in our departments and centres
  4. Research publications
  5. Research and Enterprise
  6. City's Research Excellence Framework 2014
  7. Research Degrees
  1. Research ethics
  2. How to apply for approval

How to apply for ethical approval

The process for obtaining research ethical approval has been made as simple as possible across City and is consistent with ensuring that the human rights of research participants and researchers are protected. In the first instance you will need to follow the guidelines and policies provided by your Department / School. Senate Research Ethics Committee (SREC) will only deal with applications from Schools without local Committees or instances where a local Committee refers an application to Senate Research Ethics Committee in accordance with agreed local policy and procedures. Note that applications submitted to SREC for convenience (e.g. more suitable deadlines or missing a local deadline) will not be accepted.

Senate Research Ethics Committee

The Senate Research Ethics Committee application process requires that proposals are submitted two weeks in advance of the relevant meeting. All papers must be submitted by 12 noon on the deadline date to the Secretary to Senate Research Ethics Committee. You are welcome to send an electronic copy at least two weeks before the deadline to the Secretary for initial comments, or to make an appointment with the Secretary to discuss your protocol/application.

You may be requested to attend the meeting, to explain any issues and answer questions. Please ensure that you keep the date of the meeting you are submitting to free to attend should you be asked to. You will be notified by the Secretary 7 days before the date of the meeting.

All applications need to be signed by the Principal Investigator, who must be a member of City, University of London staff. Students should apply jointly with their supervisor. A signature must also be provided by the member of staff authorised to sign off applications for ethical approval in your Department/School. Applications which have not been signed off correctly will not be accepted.

The application form can be found here, and guidelines for completing the application form here. Not filling in the application form properly can delay the start of your project. Be careful to follow the guidance and avoid the commonly made mistakes.

Departmental/School Research Ethics Committees

Cass Business SchoolSecretary: Claire Molloy
Chair: Professor Paul Palmer
Department of EconomicsDr Sotiris Georganas
Department of International PoliticsDr Alexander Lanoszka
Department of JournalismDr Zahera Harb
Department of MusicProfessor Stephen Cottrell
Department of Psychology


Chair: Dr Sophie Lind

Department of Sociology

Culture & the Creative Industries:  Dr Diana Yeh

Sociology, Media Studies, Criminology, Food Policy & Q-Step: Dr Simon Susen

School of Health Sciences

Secretary: Alison Welton

School Research Ethics Committee Chair:

Division of Health Service Research & Management Chair: TBC

Division of Language & Communication Science Chair:  Ms Lucy Henry

Division of Maternal & Child Health Chair:  Dr Katherine Curtis-Tyler

Division of Optometry & Vision: Professor Ron Douglas

Computer ScienceProfessor Jason Dykes
Departments of EngineeringDr Justin Phillips
Department of Learning Enhancement & DevelopmentProfessor Pam Parker
The City Law SchoolDr Jesse Elvin