1. News
  2. 2019
  3. January
  4. Professor Muttukrishnan Rajarajan awarded EU funding for cyber research
News from City, University of London
3D illustration showing black podests with symbols that are interconnected and three red platforms with hacker symbols. David Stupples, information warfare.
Science & Technology Series: Announcements

Professor Muttukrishnan Rajarajan awarded EU funding for cyber research

EnergyShield, an EU-funded H2020 project will address the challenges posed by cybersecurity to the electrical power and energy system.
by John Stevenson (Senior Communications Officer)

City, University of London’s Professor of Security Engineering, Professor Muttukrishnan Rajarajan and his research team have been awarded funding from the H2020 (Security Calls) which addresses the challenge of 'Cybersecurity in electrical power and energy system: an armour against cyber and privacy attacks and data breaches'.

Professor Rajarajan and his City team, part of a 19-member consortium which includes small and medium enterprises (SMEs), have been allocated €407,531 out of a total of €7,421,437 to fund the EnergyShield research project.

As more countries transition to a decentralised energy system, digital technologies play an increasingly important part in the National Electrical Power and Energy System (EPES).

Internet of Things

Moreover, other domains rely on the availability of electricity; a power outage can have a direct impact in finance, communications, transport and water supplies within a country. 

With the expanding utilisation of digital devices and the Internet of Things (IoT), the EPES is exposed to external threats, such as worms, viruses, hackers and data privacy breaches.

Professor Rajarajan and his team will be seeking solutions to these kinds of threats to the EPES.

The EnergyShield research team will develop an integrated toolkit covering the complete EPES value chain (generator, Transmission System Operator, Distribution System Operator, consumer).

The EnergyShield toolkit combines the latest technologies for vulnerability assessment (automated threat modelling), monitoring & protection (anomaly detection and DDoS mitigation) and learning & sharing (security information and event management).

The members of the EnergyShield consortium are: City, Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan, National Technical University of Athens, ABB, SIVECO Romania SA, SIGA Security, Iren S.p.A, Goldline, MIG 23, CEZ Distribution Bulgaria, Bulgarian Electricity System Operator, VETS Lenishta, CoTTP Cogen Zagore, Software Company, Konnectable, Tech Inspire, CLTRe, L7Defense, and Foreseeti.

Tags , , , , , ,
Join the conversation #ProfessorMuttukrishnanRajarajan#EnergyShield#Electrical&ElectronicEngineering#City#UniversityofLondon#EUHorizon2020#CybersecurityintheElectricalPowerandEnergySystem(EPES)
Share this article