1. News
  2. 2014
  3. November
  4. City academic takes top Brazilian literary prize
News from City, University of London
Politics & Law

City academic takes top Brazilian literary prize

Dr Carolina Matos takes the communications category in the Premio Jabuti awards

City University London's Dr Carolina Matos has scooped one of Brazil's most famous literary prizes for her book Media and Politics in Latin America: Globalization, Democracy and Identity.

The Premio Jabuti award, or "The Tortoise Prize" was created in 1958 and now comprises 27 categories spanning children's literature to sociology. Carolina was awarded the prize in the communications category. Her book examines media conglomerates in South America and compares them to Europe and the UK, engaging with current debates on globalisation and theories of cultural imperialism. She examines the role public media has played in the processes of national development, democratisation and international dialogue across South and Central America, arguing that it can be a powerful tool for political and social inclusion.

Carolina said, "I am delighted to have won the Premio Jabuti award. I feel very honoured and also humbled with the prize. I am very happy to have made this contribution and hope to continue to contribute to humanity with my work. I dedicate it to all those who have participated in the research, who have helped and supported me throughout my long years of hard work and commitment and to all those who want a better and more just world."

Professor Chris Greer, Head of the Department of Sociology at City says: "I'm thrilled for Carolina and her impressive achievement in winning this prize. We pride ourselves on the academic excellence and real-world impact of the research here at City and this award is testament the high standards we set and achieve."

The awards will be presented next week at a ceremony in Sao Paolo. Some of the famous names who have won the prize in the past have included the internationally acclaimed writers Jorge Amado (1959); Clarice Lispector (1961) and Ferreira Gullar (2011). Among the awards sponsors are the City of Sao Paulo, Camara Brasileiro do Livro (Brazilian Academy of Letters) and the British Council.

Share this article