1. News
  2. 2010
  3. November
  4. Dean of Cass Business School leads NASDAQ closing bell ceremony in Times Square
News from City, University of London

Dean of Cass Business School leads NASDAQ closing bell ceremony in Times Square

Richard Gillingwater to lead NASDAQ closing bell ceremony in Times Square.
by Amanda Chick

Richard Gillingwater, Dean of Cass Business School, which is part of City University London, will be leading the NASDAQ closing bell ceremony today, Wednesday 24 November, at 15.45 EST (20.45 GMT) live from Times Square, New York City.

This is a huge honour for the Business School as this ceremonial role is usually reserved for those heads of companies who trade on NASDAQ.  The Dean will be giving a brief speech before ringing the NASDAQ closing bell and you can watch the entire ceremony live via the NASDAQ web cam.

"I am proud to be representing Cass and all of the School's students, alumni and staff as I take part in today's NASDAQ closing bell ceremony.  It is unusual for a Dean of a business school to have this opportunity and I look forward to this unique event."

Richard Gillingwater, Dean of Cass Business School

The ceremony is aired live on and broadcast on the NASDAQ MarketSite Tower in Times Square.  To access the web cam please visit

To see a video of the closing ceremony, please follow this link and click on the Cass Business School 'Video Clip' link.

Notes on viewing the web cam:

  • Viewers must have Windows Media Player to view the webcam
  • Scroll to the bottom of the page under the heading MarkeketSite web cam and click on Windows Media Player.
  • The web cam is live only and is not archived.
  • Do not be alarmed that the web cam is fuzzy. The video feed is compressed for online viewing.
Share this article

Find us

City, University of London

Northampton Square

London EC1V 0HB

United Kingdom

Back to top

City, University of London is an independent member institution of the University of London. Established by Royal Charter in 1836, the University of London consists of 18 independent member institutions with outstanding global reputations and several prestigious central academic bodies and activities.