The City Law School Lecturer will adjudicate in Employment Tribunals and the First-Tier Tribunal (Health, Education and Social Care).

By Mr John Stevenson (Senior Communications Officer), Published

Lynne Townley, a Lecturer in The City Law School, has been appointed as a Fee-Paid Judge in the Employment Tribunals and as a Fee-Paid judge of the First Tier Tribunal (Health, Education and Social Care).

Ms Townley is delighted with her appointment which has come after a rigorous and competitive process.

LynneTownley thumb

She also acknowledges the role of several mentors in encouraging her to serve on the Bench:

“I have been very fortunate to have been assisted by excellent mentors who hold or have held judicial positions. The tipping point for me in deciding to apply was as a result of very kind encouragement from the late Dr Julian Farrand, His Honour Peter Murphy, Judge Amerdeep Somal, Her Honour Judge Kaly Kaul QC, Judge (retired) Tony Ostrin, and Anesta Weekes QC. I am also grateful to my many colleagues at City for their encouragement, particularly my former City mentor, Robert McPeake”.

Called to the Bar as a Harmsworth Scholar in 1996 (Middle Temple) and by the Inns of Court of Northern Ireland (2018), Ms Townley is a criminal barrister and Lecturer on the Bar Professional Training Course. From 2003-2015, she held a number of posts in the Crown Prosecution Service, including as a Crown Advocate, Advocacy Assessor, and Advocacy Manager for the Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) in London.

She was also a Senior Policy Advisor, and was CPS National Policy lead on homicide; honour-based violence/forced marriage, and FGM.

Ms Townley has been a member of the Ministry of Justice’s Murder Review Advisory Group and the Legal Advisor to NHS Health Education England. Lynne is the current Chair of the Association of Women Barristers and was a Committee Member of the South Eastern Circuit Bar Mess. She is the co-author, along with HHJ Kaly Kaul QC, of a report on bullying and harassment at the Bar.


Related schools, departments and centres