The world-leading academics were recognised for their contributions to their fields.

By Sophie Cubbin (Head of Communications and Events), Published (Updated )

City, University of London is delighted to announce that four academics have been recognised for their achievements in the Queen’s Birthday Honours 2018.

Professor Jennifer Temkin, from The City Law School, has been awarded a CBE for services to Criminal Justice. Professor Temkin has contributed expert opinion to national reviews on the law relating to sexual offences.

Professor Ken Grattan and Professor Tong Sun from the Department of Engineering have been awarded OBEs for their contributions to the science of measurement and to engineering, respectively.

Professor Jane Marshall, a speech and language therapist, has been awarded an OBE for services to aphasia, a condition which can lead to communication difficulties and the loss of speech following a stroke.

Professor Sir Paul Curran, President of City, University of London, commented:

"On behalf of City, University of London, I’d like to offer my sincere congratulations to Jennifer, Ken, Tong and Jane for this special and very well-deserved recognition of their achievements.

They have each shown great commitment to advancing their fields of research and to using their expertise and knowledge to educate the thousands of students they have collectively taught during their time at City."

Professor Jennifer Temkin

Professor Temkin has authored a number of highly regarded books including Rape and the Legal Process (1992). She co-authored Sexual Assault and the Justice Gap: A Question of Attitude (2008) which addresses social prejudices and how they are linked to what has been called the "justice gap" - the difference between the number of rapes reported and the number of convictions.

Throughout her academic career, Professor Temkin has contributed expert opinion to national reviews on the law relating to sexual offences and on the treatment of victims of rape and sexual assault by the legal system. She was an influential member of both the Pigot Committee (1988-9) which brought about the introduction of special measures to assist sexual assault victims in court and of the Home Office Sex Offences Review (1999-2000) which led to the Sexual Offences Act 2003 and transformed the law on sexual offences.

Professor Ken Grattan

Professor Grattan has provided outstanding service to City, University of London for nearly 35 years. He is the holder of a Royal Academy of Engineering Research Chair and the George Daniels Chair and a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

As a former long-serving Head of City's Electrical Engineering Department; and later Dean of the School of Engineering & Mathematical Sciences and the School of Informatics, Professor Grattan developed City's Engineering School into one of its major centres of research excellence.

For the past five years, he has been the founding Dean of City's Graduate School, championing the cause of postgraduate students at City. He has supervised 60 PhD students to completion.

Professor Tong Sun

Tong Sun was City’s first female Professor of Engineering and the holder of a Royal Academy of Engineering and Faiveley Brecknell Willis Research Chair. During more than 20 years, she has been a role model in research and education for both female and ethnic minority STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) staff and students.

One of City’s most cited academics, Professor Sun’s research is of great practical value to the UK economy. Among many other projects she has engaged with industry in her research on instrumenting railway electrification pantographs to minimise disruption and enhance safety; with marine engineering companies to monitor propeller performance and enhance propulsion efficiency; and with an overseas water company in prize-winning work to instrument sewers to reduce maintenance costs and maximise their service life.

Professor Jane Marshall

Professor Jane Marshall is a world authority on aphasia. She is the author of over 70 journal articles, 16 book chapters and the co-editor of 2 books. The work Professor Marshall has led at City now figures in standard academic textbooks and is known around the world by students and clinical practitioners in the field.

Alongside City colleagues, and with funding from the Stroke Association, she developed EVA Park, a virtual world in which people with aphasia can meet on the internet to receive therapy, practice conversation or receive social support. EVA Park won the 2015 Tech4Good award and has received further funding both from the Stroke Association and The Tavistock Trust for Aphasia.

In 2017, Professor Marshall won the Robin Tavistock Award for her work on aphasia. She has shown that aphasia can be remediated: that language impairments can be improved or compensated for through gesture and other non-verbal means; all critical findings for those living with the devastating effects of stroke.


Queens Birthday Honours 2018

Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

This is awarded for having a prominent role at national level, or a leading role at regional level. You can also get one for a distinguished, innovative contribution to any area.

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

This is awarded for having a major local role in any activity, including people whose work has made them known nationally in their chosen area.

Related schools, departments and centres