City staff were celebrated for their outstanding work at the fifth instalment of The President’s Awards.

Published (Updated )

This year’s Awards saw a large number of high quality nominations which were sent in by staff and students wishing to acknowledge the hard work and achievements of their colleagues and lecturers.

After much deliberation, a panel of judges then whittled the nominations down to a shortlist of 51.

Awards presented on the day included The Team of the Year Award, which went to the International Student Team (Visa Advice), for their commitment to City’s multi-cultural communities when welcoming international students and helping them adapt in their new settings.

The ATHENA SWAN Award for Equality and Diversity was met with a collective cheer when it went to The Transgender, Intersex, Gender Non-Conforming Working Group (TIGNC), who collaborated with staff and students on a policy which celebrates diversity.

Jenny Aster, Co-Chair of the TIGNC, said: “We are delighted to have been recognised for our efforts to create an inclusive policy, which protects both staff and our students.

“Winning this award will give us the momentum we need to ensure that we have safe spaces across our facilities for all our people and to ensure that all staff are awareness trained and understand the challenges that some may face.

“The working group has put a lot of hard work into this policy and while we can be proud of what we have achieved, it is important that we continue to strive forward to help City continue to be a flagship inclusive and diverse place to work and study." -

Jenny Aster, Co-Chair of the TIGNC

William Power, Buddy Scheme Officer, took home the award for Outstanding Service in Support of Students, for his CityBuddies programme, which matches current undergraduates with new undergraduates to help them settle in to their first few months at university.

William said: “CityBudies is a key part of City’s work to enhance student progression and ensure that undergraduates are supported on their journey into Higher Education.

“Winning a President’s Award will raise awareness for the CityBuddies programme and encourage more students to join the 450 mentors who will go on to support 1800 new undergraduates next year.

“I am sure that they are as proud of themselves as I am of them for their efforts in strengthening the community and academic excellence at City.” - William Power, Buddy Scheme Officer

President, Professor Sir Paul Curran, said: “Congratulations to all the winners and nominees in the President’s Awards which offer a perfect showcase of what we can do and an opportunity to celebrate our colleagues achievements. They are really quite extraordinary.

“I am tremendously proud of our staff for their commitment to world-leading and internationally excellent research; high-quality education; and an outstanding student experience.” - President, Professor Sir Paul Curran

Also at the awards, members of staff were celebrated for their 25 and 40 years of service at City, an achievement which will also be highlighted at the Long Servers Awards.

Winners and awards:

Best Collaborative Project between a School and a Professional Service

Verity Altomare and the Cass Website Redevelopment Team

Outstanding Research Engagement - Media and Outreach

First winner: Professor Barbara Casu Lukac, Dr Francesc Rodriguez-Tous and Dr Angela Gallo

Second winner: Professor Christoph Bruecker

ATHENA SWAN Award for Equality and Diversity

Transgender, Intersex, Gender Non-Conforming Working Group

Outstanding Service in Support of Students (The Robert Kitchin Award)

William Power

Excellence in Learning and Teaching – The Rector’s Award

Rosa Benato – School of Health Sciences

Professor Katherine Reece-Thomas – The City Law School

Dr Efstathios Milonidis – School of Mathematics, Computer Sciences & Engineering

Dr Jessica Jones-Nielsen – School of Arts and Social Sciences

Alessandro Giudici – Cass Business School

Outstanding Engagement with Business and the Professions

Dr Lucia Rocca-Ihenacho

Long Service Awards

25 Years: Professor Sarah Stallebrass, Dr Xeni Dassiou and Barbara Kirk

40 years: Professor James Hampton

International Collaboration of the Year

Professor Tim Pring

Outstanding Contribution to the Local Community

Commendation: Dr Tullis Rennie

First winner: Zohra Jeraj and Leanne Allen

Second winner: Ben Copsey

Professional Services Project of the Year

The WorkTribe Team: Szabi Steiner, Dr Claudia Kalay, Christine Giroux, Jody Williams and Rangika Abhayawickrama

Research Project of the year

Dr Liza Schuster

Professor Les Mayhew

Outstanding Personal Achievement

Leo Chadburn

Team of the Year

International Student Advice Team