1. Events
  2. 2018
  3. May
  4. Ian Pace (piano): Elliott Carter, Betsy Jolas and new work




Ian Pace (piano): Elliott Carter, Betsy Jolas and new work




Ian Pace performs a typically vivid and ambitious programme of 20th and 21st century music, framed by early and late works by Elliott Carter, a towering figure in American music, alongside the beautiful but less well known music of Betsy Jolas..

The programme also includes Pace's own auseinandergerissene Hälften, a labyrinthine lecture-recital reflecting the composer-pianist-musicologist's 'torn' affinities.


  • Elliott Carter, Piano Sonata (1945-46)
  • Betsy Jolas, B for Sonata (1973, UK Premiere)
  • Samuel Andreyev, Piano Pieces I-IV (2011-16, World Premiere)
  • Sadie Harrison, gentle (2017)
  • Mic Spencer, A Maze I(a)n (S)pace (Space [G]race) (2017)
  • Dieter Schnebel, 'Trauermarsch' from Bagatellen (1986)
  • Ian Pace, auseinandergerissene Hälften (2018, World Premiere)
  • Kaija Saariaho, Prelude (2007)
  • Camden Reeves, Notturno dalle fiamme dell’inferno (2005)
  • Luboš Mrkvička, For Piano G and L
  • Betsy Jolas, Calling E.C. (1982, UK Premiere)
  • Elliott Carter, Two Diversions (1999)
  • Elliott Carter, Retrouvailles (2000)
  • Elliott Carter, Caténaires (2006)

Share this event

When and where

6.30pm - 8.30pmFriday 25th May 2018

Performance Space College Building City, University of London St John Street London EC1V 4PB United Kingdom

Booking Form

Your call to City University's form service returned an unexpected HTTP status of:404
Please contact our web team and we'll do our best to help you ASAP.