1. Events
  2. 2017
  3. May
  4. Stravinsky’s Piano and Leokadiya Kashperova




Stravinsky’s Piano and Leokadiya Kashperova




Series: City Summer Sounds Festival 2017

Dr Graham Griffiths presents the previously 'lost' works of Russian composer Leokadiya Kashperova, whose work Dr Griffiths has been researching since 2002, recently in association with BBC Radio 3 and the Arts and Humanities Research Council, as part of a project highlighting the neglected work of women composers.

Read more about the 'lost' work by Leokadiya Kashperova project.

The concert will be preceded by the launch of Dr Griffith's book, Stravinsky’s Piano: Genesis of a Musical Language (Cambridge University Press) and a presentation.

6:00pm Book Launch

Graham Griffiths (City, University of London):

Stravinsky’s Piano: Genesis of a Musical Language

6:30pm Presentation

Graham Griffiths:

In Search of “Stravinsky’s piano teacher”

7:00pm Concert


Leokadiya Kashperova In the Midst of Nature (ca.1900)
(Graham Griffiths, piano)

Leokadiya Kashperova Sonata no.1 in G major for cello and piano (ca.1905)
(Yoanna Prodanova, cello & Laura Roberts, piano)

Dr Graham Griffiths

An honorary research fellow at City, University of London, and closely associated with the University since 2010; he is the author of Stravinsky’s Piano: Genesis of a Musical Language (Cambridge University Press, 2013). In 2016 he completed the first-ever comprehensive dictionary entry on Leokadiya KASHPEROVA (1872-1940), one of Russia’s earliest female composers, for the Instrumentalistinnen-Lexicon (The Sophie Drinker Institute, Bremen: forthcoming, online).

In 2015 he performed Kashperova’s In the Midst of Nature at the St Petersburg ‘International Conservatoires Festival’ and, also at the piano, the scherzo from her previously lost Symphony in B minor which Griffiths successfully located in 2014. He has made nine lecture-recital tours of Denmark and taught at the universities of Bath, Bristol, Canterbury Christ Church, City (University of London), Middlesex and Oxford.

While working in Brazil he presented over two hundred concerts and guest-lectured, often with the support of the British Council, at several State and Federal universities.

Between 1988 and 1999 he directed forty-two world premieres with his contemporary ensemble Grupo Novo Horizonte de Sao Paulo (the subject of research - and an article, forthcoming - by Prof. Christopher Dromey, University of Middlesex). As conductor and musicologist, he dedicated several years to the restoration and performance of Latin American sacred music of the eighteenth century.

Griffiths' work has been featured by public service broadcasters in several countries including Danish Radio, TV Cultura Brazil and the BBC (Hear & Now: BBCR3, 9 February 1996). Since 2014 he has made six research-trips to Russia. Kashperova’s music, and Griffiths’s research, have been selected by BBC Radio 3 and the Arts & Humanities Research Council for inclusion in their 2018 celebration ‘Five Forgotten Female Composers’ on 8 March, 2018 - International Women’s Day (IWD).

Yoanna Prodanova

Born in 1992 in Varna, Bulgaria. Recipient of the 2016 Philip and Dorothy Green Award for Young Artists, she performs throughout the UK, Europe and Canada. She has performed as a soloist with the Westmount Youth Orchestra and the Sinfonia de Lanaudiere, and has recently appeared at the Wigmore Hall, Barbican Hall, LSO St. Luke’s, St.James’s Piccadilly, Casa de Musica Porto and Tonhalle Zurich.

Yoanna is currently studying at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama with Louise Hopkins. She plays on a Frank Ravatin cello kindly offered from the Canimex Foundation, Quebec. She is grateful to the Guildhall School Trust, Help Musicians UK and the John Yearly Trust for their generous support.

Laura Roberts

Professor of piano at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama and an external examiner for the Royal College of Music; she is currently working on a book about Clara Schumann (Ashgate, forthcoming). Laura has performed widely as soloist and chamber musician, appearing at the Conway Hall, LSO St. Luke's, and at the Barbican’s new concert hall, Milton Court.

Recent concerts have included a performance of piano trios by Robert and Clara Schumann in the Cobbe Keyboard Instrument Collection at Hatchlands with Arisa Fujita and Matthijs Broersma. She regularly presents and performs in study afternoons at the Wigmore Hall in collaboration with the composer Julian Philips.

Share this event

When and where

6.00pm - 8.00pmTuesday 23rd May 2017

Performance Space College Building City, University of London St John Street London EC1V 4PB United Kingdom

Booking Form

Your call to City University's form service returned an unexpected HTTP status of:404
Please contact our web team and we'll do our best to help you ASAP.