1. Events
  2. 2017
  3. June
  4. Ian Pace: Charles Ives - Concord Sonata




Ian Pace: Charles Ives - Concord Sonata




Ian Pace Ian Pace performs Charles Ives' Piano Sonata No.2, arguably Ives' masterpiece, and a key work in the 20th century piano literature, with its pioneering use of quotation, atonal harmonies, and references to American transcendentalists.

The programme also includes tributes to the remarkable music of Luc Brewaeys, who died in 2015, rarely heard pieces by Stefan Wolpe, Arthur Lourié and City PhD composer Soosan Lolavar, whose opera ID, Please recently met with critical acclaim.


Ian Pace, piano

With Charlotte Beale, flute; Anna Vaughan, viola

  • Stefan Wolpe Passacaglia (1936, rev. 1972)
  • Arthur Lourié Forms en l’air (1915)
  • Soosan Lolavar Black Dog (2012)
  • Marc Yeats, william mumler’s spirit photography (2016) World premiere
  • Lauren Redhead for Luc Brewaeys (2016) UK premiere
  • Luc Brewaeys “Nobody is Perfect!” (Michael Finnissy Fifty) (1996)
  • Luc Brewaeys, completed Michael Finnissy, The Dale of Tranquillity (2005) World premiere
  • Charles Ives Piano Sonata No. 2, “Concord, Mass.” (1916-19, rev. in 1920s-40s)

Share this event

Image credits
  • Ian Pace

    Photo by Luis Castilla

When and where

7.00pm - 8.00pmFriday 2nd June 2017

Performance Space College Building City, University of London St John Street London EC1V 4PB United Kingdom

Booking Form

Your call to City University's form service returned an unexpected HTTP status of:404
Please contact our web team and we'll do our best to help you ASAP.