1. Events
  2. 2014
  3. May
  4. Stay Close: Only Sound Remains




Stay Close: Only Sound Remains




Series: City University London Concert Series

Stay Close is a ten-month project exploring contemporary classical music as a means of cultural exchange between the UK and Iran. Following research periods in both Iran and the UK, composer Soosan Lolavar produced a new piece entitled Only Sound Remains drawing on both Iranian and Western musical styles.Supported using funding from Arts Council England, Jerwood Charitable Foundation and Iran Heritage Foundation.

Only Sound Remains 

I.             I am a Mountain Plant 

II.            The Coldness of the Rough Rocks 

III.           My Birthplace is the Mountain 

IV.          I am but the Fury of Heartache 

V.            Do not make me Weep

Also featuring a range of Arabic and Iranian music, including both traditional pieces and new compositions.


Flute - Javier Leon*

Ney - Louai Alhenawi

Clarinet - Joy Boole*

Trombone - Chris Augustine*

Tombak - Fariborz Kiannejad

Harp - Olivia Jageurs*

Soprano - Honey Rouhani

Kamanche - Adib Rostami

Tar - Jamal Samavati

Violin - Nilufar Alimaksumova*

Viola - Martin Wray*

Cello - Iain Ward*

Double bass - Ben Wolstenholme*

Conductor - Gregory Rose

* denotes members of the London Philharmonic Orchestra's Foyle Future Firsts Programme, an annual development programme bridging the transition between college and the professional platform for up to 16 outstanding young musicians.

Share this event

When and where

7.00pm - 8.30pmTuesday 20th May 2014

Performance Space College Building City, University of London St John Street London EC1V 4PB United Kingdom

Contact Details

Concerts Manager

Contact the organiser

Booking Form

Your call to City University's form service returned an unexpected HTTP status of:404
Please contact our web team and we'll do our best to help you ASAP.