About City
  1. Schools and departments
  2. Education
  3. Rector and President
  4. Governance and leadership
  5. Working at City
  6. History of City
  7. More about City
  8. Campus map
  9. Contact us
  10. Guidance on Coronavirus
  1. Mathematics, Computer Science and Engineering
  2. Undergraduate scholarships
About City

Electrical and Electronic Engineering and Biomedical Engineering

IEE Prize (IET)

Applications for the best Electrical and Electronic Engineering student is  submitted to the IET for  final decision.


Jacqueline Brookes OBE Prize

One nomination is made every year based on the following criteria:

  • Electrical Engineering undergraduate or postgraduate Home UK/EU student
  • Special interest in radio frequency transmission for services used by the police or other public safety sector
  • Planning to remain in the UK following graduation
  • Enthusiastic to go into professional radio world
  • Must be in need of financial assistance.

Miss Majorie Bell Prizes

Multiple nominations are made for the best female undergraduate students in Electrical, Electronic and Biomedical Engineering students.

Edward Allibone Prize

Named after Professor Thomas Edward Allibone CBE FREng FRS, the Edward Allibone Prize has been established in honour of Professor Allibone's long association with City, University of London. A leading authority on high-voltage physics, a brilliant physicist and engineer, industrialist and inventor Professor Allibone was a Visiting Professor in what is now the School of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences for nearly 30 years from 1971 and the first Frank Poynton Professor at City, University of London. He was a founding Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and when he died on September 9, 2003 aged 99, he was the last surviving direct colleague of Ernest Rutherford, the father of nuclear physics. His published scientific work stretched over a period of 70 years.

Awarded to the best Part 2/3 Electrical and Electronic Engineering student.