About City
  1. Schools and departments
  2. Education
  3. Rector and President
  4. Governance and leadership
  5. Working at City
  6. History of City
  7. More about City
  8. Campus map
  9. Contact us
  10. Guidance on Coronavirus
  1. Arts and Social Sciences
  2. Journalism
  3. Graduate Destinations
  4. Recent awards
About City

Award winners and nominees: 2011


  • Simon Murphy (Newspaper Journalism, 2011/2) won Reporter of the Year at the Guardian Student Media Awards, November 2011, for work produced during his undergraduate degree. Clare Davis and Tom Greenfield (both Broadcast Journalism 2010/11) were runners-up in the Broadcast Journalist of the Year category.
  • Mark Cobley (Newspaper Journalism, 2004/5) won News Journalist of the Year at the State Street Awards, and Trade Journalist of the Year at the Investment Management Association Awards, November 2011.
  • Ben Preston (Newspaper Journalism, 1986/7), Rachel Richardson (Newspaper Journalism, 2001/2) and Anna Winston (Magazine Journalism, 2006/7) won prizes at the British Society of Magazine Editors awards, November 2011. Preston, editor of Radio Times, won Editor of the Year in the entertainment and celebrity magazines category. Richardson, editor of Fabulous, won the Fiona Macpherson New Editor of the Year award. Winston, web editor of bdonline, won Website Editor of the Year (business).
  • Jerome Starkey (Newspaper Journalism, 1993/4) won the Kurt Schork Memorial Award (freelance journalist category) for his reporting from Afghanistan and Libya, October 2011.
  • David Pilling (Periodical Journalism, 1987/8) won Foreign Commentator of the Year at the Editorial Intelligence Comment Awards, October 2011.
  • Simon Rogers (Newspaper Journalism, 1990/1) won Best UK Internet Journalist award from the Oxford Internet Institute, September 2011.
  • Shaoni Bhattacharya (Periodical Journalism, 1998/9) won best news item and best feature in the ABSW Science Writers' Awards, July 2011.
  • Saeed Kamali Dehghan (International Journalism, 2010/1) won a Peabody Award for the HBO documentary For Neda, which he co-produced, May 2011.
  • Guardian Datablog (Editor Simon Rogers, Newspaper Journalism, 1990/1) won the prize for Best Use of New Media in the Newspaper Awards, May 2011.
  • James Lawton (Newspaper Journalism, 1992/3) and Amelia Gentleman (Newspaper Journalism, 1995) won Sports Journalist of the Year and Feature Writer of the Year respectively at the British Press Awards, April 2011
  • Simon Rogers (Newspaper Journalism, 1990/1) won the inaugural XCity Award for an outstanding contribution to journalism, March 2011
  • Billy Kenber (Investigative Journalism, 2009/10) won the Hugh Cudlipp Award for published student journalism, January 2011


  • Clare Davis and Michael Greenfield (both Broadcast Journalism 2010/11) nominated in Broadcast Journalist of the Year category at the Guardian Student Media Awards, September 2011. Simon Murphy (Newspaper Journalism 2011/2) and Tom Farmery (Investigative Journalism 2011/2) also nominated for work produced during their undergraduate degrees.
  • Nick Edwards (Periodical Journalism 1991/2) and Ed Grenby (Periodical Journalism 1997/8) nominated in Editor of the Year categories at the PPA Awards, April 2011.
  • Matt Holehouse (Investigative Journalism, 2009/10) nominated in Young Journalist of the Year category in The Regional Press Awards, April 2011
  • Eight alumni among nominees for the 2011 British Press Awards, February 2011: Alex Ralph (in Young Journalist of the Year category), Sara Nathan (Showbiz Reporter of the Year), James Lawton (Sports Journalist of the Year), Amelia Gentleman (Feature Writer of the Year), Decca Aitkenhead, Jane Fryer (both Interviewer of the Year), Alexis Petridis (Critic of the Year) and Fraser Nelson (Columnist of the Year)