About City
  1. Schools and departments
  2. Education
  3. Rector and President
  4. Governance and leadership
  5. Working at City
  6. History of City
  7. More about City
  8. Campus map
  9. Contact us
  10. Guidance on Coronavirus
  1. Sustainable City
  2. What we do
  3. Governance
About City


Management of City's sustainability objectives.

City's Environmental Sustainability Policy and overall sustainability objectives are managed and monitored by the Sustainability Committee.

The Sustainability Committee is responsible to the University's Executive Council (ExCo).  The Committee is made up of staff and students from different areas across the institution and is chaired by Professor Ken Grattan, Dean of the Graduate School, who is a member of ExCo.

The Sustainability Committee aims to:

  • Embed sustainability within all of City's activities involving both students and staff
  • Develop and report on progress on the integration of education for sustainable development into the curriculum
  • Develop action plans and targets to ensure continual improvement against all areas of the People & Planet Green League (City's strategic key performance indicator for environmental sustainability)
  • Monitor and report on performance against City's key performance indicator
  • Ensure effective communication of achievements within and outside the institution
  • Identify opportunities for enhancing the profile of the Sustainability Committee
  • Report to ExCo twice a year and to Council annually through the submission of an Annual Sustainability Report.

Committee members are:

CHAIR – Prof Ken Grattan (Dean of Graduate School)
DEPUTY CHAIR – Jason Clarke (Head of Sustainability)
SECRETARY – Stevie York (Administration Assistant, Property and Facilities)

School Representatives

Cass Business School

Prof Paul Palmer (Professor & Associate Dean, Faculty of Management)

Pro Peter Fleming (Professor, Faculty of Management)

City Law School

Grietje Baars (Lecturer)

School of Arts & Social Sciences

Sarah Lonsdale (Programme Director, Journalism)

School of Mathematics, Engineering & Computer Science

Prof Martin Fry (Visiting Professor)

School of Health Sciences

Dr Catherine Suttle (Senior Lecturer, Optometry)

Professional Services

Academic Services

Anika Bloomfield (Education & Student Strategy Coordinator)

Maggie Cunningham (Assistant Registrar)

Sport & Leisure Services

Bill Thompson (Head of Sport & Leisure)

Learning Enhancement & Development

Patrick Baughan (Senior Lecturer, Learning Development Centre)


Suri Araniyasundaran  (Head of Financial Services)

Debasish Bandopadhyay (Procurement Manager)


Sally Sambrook (Leadership & Staff Development Consultant)

Information Services

Eric McIntosh (Enterprise Architect, Information Services)

Robert Clarke (IT Business Relationship Manager, Information Services)

Marketing & Communications

Demetri Petrou (Internal Communications Officer)

Property & Facilities

Jason Clarke (Head of Sustainability)

Eleanor Simes Property and Facilities

Student Services


Students’ Union


Olesea Matcovschi

VP Education

Malek Arab

VP Activities

Zulkaif Riaz

Union Representatives


Simon Bralee


Catherine Stokes


Miles Battye


Martin Chivers

Environmental Management

City has developed an Environmental Management System (EMS) to manage its environmental aspects and impacts and to help integrate sustainability into its daily services and activities.

City's EMS has been certified to ISO 14001, the international standard for Environmental Management Systems.

The fully functioning EMS provides a framework for monitoring, measuring and reviewing our environmental objectives and targets.

The Sustainability Committee is responsible for managing and reviewing the EMS and reports on progress against objectives within the Annual Sustainability Report which is published on the website.

For further information about the Sustainability Committee or the Environmental Management System, please contact the Sustainability team.

Sustainability team

Contact the team at sustainable_city@city.ac.uk or 020 7040 8053

Jason Clarke - Head of Sustainability (full time), responsible for Environmental Management System, strategy and utilities

Eleanor Simes - Sustainability Officer (full time), responsible for biodiversity, food, travel and waste management

Jessica Lobo - Sustainability Engagement Coordinator (full time), responsible for staff and student engagement