About City

  1. About City
  2. Governance and leadership
  3. Council, Senate and committees
  4. Academic Committees
  5. University Research and Enterprise Committee

University Research and Enterprise Committee

Terms of Reference

  1. To advise the Vice-President (Research and Enterprise) on the achievement of the City’s strategic aims relating to research and enterprise.

  2. To oversee the Research and Enterprise Workstream supporting the implementation of City's Strategic Plan 2012-2016, including reviewing business cases for new projects, monitoring of agreed projects relating to workstream deliverables and approval of associated recommendations to the University Executive Committee.
  3. To advise the Vice-President (Research and Enterprise) on the development and review of institutional policies and procedures in relation to research and enterprise and to monitor their implementation, making recommendations and reporting where required to Senate.
  4. To consider external developments relating to research and enterprise and to advise the  Vice-President (Research and Enterprise) on the appropriate response from City, including any necessary internal developments.
  5. To keep under review the research and enterprise needs, plans and achievements of Schools and City's Interdisciplinary Centres, with particular regard to measurable aims, management processes and the organisation of research into appropriate groupings, with a view to maximising City’s position in comparative assessments of research and enterprise.
  6. To oversee the strategic development and operational management of City Research Online to ensure that it meets the needs of Schools and the University effectively, that policies and practices for open access to research publications and research data are developed accordingly and that appropriate resources are provided to realise benefits to City from the dissemination of research.
  7. To advise the Vice-President (Research and Enterprise) on the allocation of resources needed to support the development of research and enterprise, including funding for institutional doctoral studentships and research fellowships and HEIF funding.

Composition and Membership

Equality and Diversity statement

City, University of London is committed to promoting equality, diversity and inclusion in all its activities, processes, and culture, under its Public Sector Equality Duties and the Equality Act 2010.  This includes promoting equality and diversity for all, irrespective of any protected characteristic, working pattern, family circumstance, socio-economic background, political belief or other irrelevant distinction.

Diverse membership of all committees is expected.  Wherever possible membership will consist of at least 30% women and 30% men and representation of other protected groups will be actively considered. Where this has not been met committees should be able to demonstrate what action has been taken to achieve this target.


Vice-President (Research and Enterprise) (Chair)

Professor Andrew Jones (Ex-officio)

Associate Deans for Research and Enterprise

Cass Business School

Professor Bobby Banerjee (Ex-officio)

School of Arts and Social Sciences

Dr Miguel Mera (Ex-officio)

School of Health Sciences

Professor Chris Hull (Ex-officio)

School of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences and School of Informatics (new School name awaiting confirmation)

Professor Panicos Kyriacou (Ex-officio)

The City Law School

Dr Tawhida Ahmed (Ex-officio)

Other members of academic staff, appointed for three years renewable

Professor Charles Baden-Fuller (2019/20)

Dr Sally Barlow (2019/20)

Professor Caroline Wiertz (2019/20)

Dr Laudan Nooshin (2019/20)

Professor Nicola Botting (2019/20)

Dr Elaine Fahey (2019/20)

Dr Simone Stumpf (2019/20)

Dean of City Graduate School Professor Ken Grattan (Ex-offico)

Chair of Senate Research Ethics Committee

Professor Ron Douglas (Ex-officio)

Director, Research & Enterprise

Dr Jonathan Deer (ex-officio)

Head of International Relations

Mark Hertlein (Ex-offico)
Director, Library Services Louise Doolan (Ex-officio)
In attendance

Office Administrator  (Secretary)

Joanna Short

Director of Planning and Strategy Unit or nominated representative

Paul Marshall

Others as required for individual items


Other information

  • Frequency of meetings - As required, at least 3 per year
  • Dates for 2019/20 will be confirmed

If you would like to see records of committee meetings prior to 2015, please visit our archived pages.