About City
  1. Rector & President
  2. City Information
  3. Education
  4. City & the community
  5. Sustainable City
  6. Working at City
  7. Facts about City
  8. This is City
  9. Global City
  10. Facilities and equipment
  1. The City of London and City, University of London
  2. Lord Mayor's Show
  3. Sir Michael Bear
About City

Sir Michael Bear

Alderman Michael Bear took office as the 683rd Lord Mayor of the City of London on Friday 12th November 2010. 

Michael Bear was born in Nairobi, brought up in Cyprus and educated at Clifton College in Bristol. He studied Civil Engineering at the University of the Witwatersrand in South Africa and an MBA at Cranfield University. He has held senior positions in both the Property and Construction industries. 

Over the last 36 years he has worked first in the international construction industry, including the US, Europe, China, the Far East, West Africa and South Africa latterly for Balfour Beatty. In the City he was responsible for bringing the regeneration at Spitalfields to a successful conclusion as Chief Executive of the Spitalfields Development Group, acquiring considerable expertise in all aspects of urban regeneration and community development. He is Regeneration Director at Hammerson plc and since 1993 Managing Director, Balfour Beatty Property Limited, working on their development and PFI/PPP projects. In 2009 he was appointed a Non-Executive Director of Arup. He has assisted a number of major UK and global companies relocate and expand their businesses in the City and City Fringe. 

His construction and property experience has also included IPO's, M & A, project finance, financing and securitisation, sale of buildings and property asset portfolio management. He also has first-hand experience of SMEs having owned and run a portfolio of small businesses from 1991 to 2002 and a current small scale property portfolio in London. 

Michael is a Fellow of the Institution of Civil Engineers, a Fellow of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and a Founder Member of the British Council of Offices.