About City
  1. Rector & President
  2. City Information
  3. Education
  4. City & the community
  5. Sustainable City
  6. Working at City
  7. Facts about City
  8. Global City
  9. Facilities and equipment
  1. Governance at City
About City

Governance at City

City University London is an independent corporation, granted the status of university by Royal Charter in 1966. In the Charter, the University Council is defined as the governing body of the University, ultimately responsible for its affairs.

The Charter also stipulates that the Lord Mayor of London should act as the Chancellor of the University, a unique arrangement that continues today and reflects the University's historic ties with the City of London.


Governance at CityThe Chancellor is the Head of the University: she is entitled to preside over the Annual Stakeholders' Meeting (Court) that takes place in March each year and to confer awards on behalf of the University. On 29th September 2013 Alderman Fiona Woolf was elected as the 686th Lord Mayor of London. She took office on 8th November 2013 and in doing so became City University London's Chancellor.

Alderman Woolf began her career in the corporate and banking fields at Clifford Chance, before moving to CMS Cameron McKenna where she became the firm's first female partner. She ran its banking and project finance practice in Bahrain for three years and went on to build an innovative energy and major projects practice. Her career has taken her to 40 jurisdictions, advising more than 25 governments and multi-lateral agencies, on attracting investment in infrastructure and energy reforms. She was awarded a CBE for her contribution to the UK knowledge economy and invisible earnings in 2002. A Senior Fellow at Harvard University, she has also been awarded honorary doctorates by Keele University and the College of Law and is an Honorary Bencher of Middle Temple.

The theme of her year in office is 'The Energy to Transform Lives', with money raised from the Lord Mayor's Appeal destined for community-based charities. Alderman Woolf has also created the Lord Mayor's Charity Leadership Programme, in partnership with the Centre for Charity Effectiveness at City University London's Cass Business School, Mazars and The Macquarie Group Foundation.

From 10th November 2012 to 8th November 2013, Sir Roger Gifford served as Lord Mayor of London and Chancellor of City University London. Sir Roger was made a Knight Bachelor in 2013.


The Pro-Chancellor is the Chair of the Council. He acts as Chancellor in the absence of the Chancellor, is a regular member of the Corporate Governance & Nominations Committee and the Remuneration Committee and provides leadership and support to the Vice-Chancellor.

Mr Rob Woodward is Chief Executive Officer of STV Group plc, the Scottish based media company. Until 2005, Mr Woodward served as Commercial Director of Channel 4 Television. He was an executive member of the Channel 4 Corporation Board and responsible for Channel 4's commercial wellbeing.

Prior to joining Channel 4, Mr Woodward was a Managing Director at UBS Corporate Finance working in London and New York. Before this, he was the Managing Partner of Braxton UK, the strategy consulting practice of Deloitte. He also led Deloitte Consulting's European Technology, Media & Telecommunications (TMT) group. He has specialised in advising TMT companies on strategic and corporate finance issues for the past 20 years. Mr Woodward was appointed to the Board of Trustees of the National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts (NESTA) in November 2009.


Council delegates some of the decision-making afforded to it by Royal Charter to Senate, its sub-committees, the Vice-Chancellor and the Pro-Chancellor (Chair of Council). Members of Council are appointed for terms of up to three years, renewable to a maximum of nine years in total.

In 2013, the following new members of Council were appointed:

  • Sir Brendan Barber, Independent Member from 1st January 2013
  • Mr Andrew Friend, Independent Member from 1st January 2013
  • Mr Iain Gray, Independent Member from 1st January 2013
  • Professor Steven Haberman, Dean of Cass Business School from 8th February 2013.     

Membership of Council at the end of 2013:

  • Chancellor The Rt Hon The Lord Mayor of London, Alderman Fiona Woolf
  • Pro-Chancellor (Chair) Mr Rob Woodward
  • Deputy Pro-Chancellor (Deputy Chair) Mr Roger Bright
  • Vice-Chancellor Professor Sir Paul Curran
  • Independent Members Sir Brendan Barber, Professor Sir Drummond Bone, Dame Lynne Brindley, Mr Andrew Friend, Mr Iain Gray, Mr Andrew Halper, Ms Philippa Hird, Dr John Low, Mr Kieran Murphy, Ms Hunada Nouss, Ms Carolyn Regan.     

Members drawn from the students and staff:

  • Professor Dinos Arcoumanis
  • Mr Stephen Avery
  • Professor David Bolton
  • Mr Giulio Folino
  • Professor Steven Haberman
  • Professor Stanton Newman.