About City
  1. Rector & President
  2. City Information
  3. Education
  4. City & the community
  5. Sustainable City
  6. Working at City
  7. Facts about City
  8. International Partnerships
About City


City, University of London is an independent corporation, whose legal status derives from a Royal Charter originally granted in 1966. As a consequence of the reform of governance at City, a Supplemental Charter and Statutes was approved by Privy Council in March 2006. The Supplemental Charter and Statutes revoked most of the 1966 Charter. As a consequence of acceding to the University of London on 1st September 2016, a further Supplemental Charter was approved by the Privy Council in July 2016 and set out the new objects, powers and framework of governance for City, University of London.

For further information contact the Governance Team governance@city.ac.uk

Current Charter and Statutes (pdf)

Find us

City, University of London

Northampton Square

London EC1V 0HB

United Kingdom

Back to top

City, University of London is an independent member institution of the University of London. Established by Royal Charter in 1836, the University of London consists of 18 independent member institutions with outstanding global reputations and several prestigious central academic bodies and activities.