1. News
  2. 2015
  3. March
  4. Professor Jason Chuah appointed to distinguished Canadian research program
News from City, University of London
Professor Jason Chuah chatting to a woman in a library
Politics & Law Series: Announcements

Professor Jason Chuah appointed to distinguished Canadian research program

Legal scholar at The City Law School becomes member of the College of Reviewers for the Canada Research Chairs Program.
by John Stevenson (Senior Communications Officer)

Professor of Commercial and Maritime Law in The City Law School, Professor Jason Chuah, has been appointed to serve as a member of the prestigious College of Reviewers for the Canada Research Chairs Program, which was established in 2000.

The Canadian Research Councils, a tri-granting council program of the Government of Canada, comprises the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR); the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC); and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC).

The College of Reviewers is composed of scholars of international distinction.

Professor Chuah, head of the Academic Law Department, is also an Executive Director of the London Universities Maritime Law and Policy Group.

He is a member of the College of Reviewers of the UK Arts and Humanities Research Council. Professor Chuah has published eight books and well over 200 academic and professional articles in the field.

In his new role, Professor Chuah will be peer-reviewing applications for research Chairs. He said:  “I am delighted with this new appointment and I am very much humbled by the honour.”

For more information on the Canadian Research Chairs program, please visit this website.

Maritime Law

A body of laws, conventions and treaties that governs international private business or other matters involving ships, shipping or crimes occurring on open water. Laws between nations governing such things as national versus international waters are considered public international law and are known as the Law of the Seas.

Tags , , , , , ,
Share this article

Find us

City, University of London

Northampton Square

London EC1V 0HB

United Kingdom

Back to top

City, University of London is an independent member institution of the University of London. Established by Royal Charter in 1836, the University of London consists of 18 independent member institutions with outstanding global reputations and several prestigious central academic bodies and activities.