Department of Civil Engineering
  1. Civil Engineering Structures
  2. Multi-scale Geotechnical Engineering
  3. Temporary Works & Construction Method Engineering
    1. Civil Engineering Structures
    2. Multi-scale Geotechnical Engineering
    3. Temporary Works & Construction Method Engineering
Department of Civil Engineering

Department of Civil Engineering

The department is City, University of London’s nucleus of civil engineering education and research, with courses at PhD, postgraduate, undergraduate and foundation level and an active research community.

Situated in the heart of London – a global hub of design, architecture and construction, the Department of Civil Engineering boasts purpose-built, comprehensively equipped laboratories with facilities including a geotechnical centrifuge and heavy structures strong floor. All undergraduate degree courses hold Joint Board of Moderators accreditation and postgraduate taught degrees are accredited as further learning schemes for Chartered Engineer status.


Our research in Civil Engineering incorporates two expert centres that maintain strong links with industrial partners and actively build our international reputation in novel design projects.

Research Centre for Civil Engineering Structures

This centre brings together three interlocking groups, all focusing on the analysis of different complex and/or special engineering structures: long-span bridges; tall buildings; and nuclear structures.

Research Centre for Multi-scale Geotechnical Engineering

This centre explores novel solutions to geotechnical problems by linking micro-mechanics to the macro response.

Centre of Excellence in Temporary Works and Construction Method Engineering

The main aims of the Centre of Excellence are to provide opportunities in Temporary Works and Construction Method Engineering, with a postgraduate course available and targeted research projects with direct industry involvement.


Here is a list of the academic staff who work in the Department of Civil Engineering. You can find out more about each member of staff, including their latest publications and their contact details by following the links below.

Portrait of Tatjana Micic

Dr Tatjana Micic


We have an array of recently refurbished facilities, including exceptional laboratories. The Geotechnical Centrifuge Facility is the centrepiece of the Civil Engineering Laboratory which also accommodates a large flexible laboratory space used for centrifuge model preparation, model testing at 1g, concrete testing and teaching. Adjacent to this are concrete mixing and casting facilities, a temperature-controlled soil element testing laboratory and a concrete durability laboratory.

Find us

City, University of London

Northampton Square

London EC1V 0HB

United Kingdom

Back to top

City, University of London is an independent member institution of the University of London. Established by Royal Charter in 1836, the University of London consists of 18 independent member institutions with outstanding global reputations and several prestigious central academic bodies and activities.