The Centre for Creative Writing

  1. Courses
  2. You will be taught by
  3. Student Successes
  4. Industry Links
  5. News
  6. Showcases
  1. Guest Lecturers
  2. Literary Novels

Literary Novels

We are proud of the fact that everyone who teaches on this MA is a published novelist.  This inevitably affects their availability.  So this page is all about those who have taught on the course during the last two years.  We hope that they will all be available for the next two years but some might be finishing novels, some might be away on publicity tours, so we cannot guarantee the availability of every single writer named here....

Lecturers and Mentors

nullAlex Preston's first novel, This Bleeding City, was published by Faber and Faber in the UK, and across twelve other territories. His next, The Revelations, will be published by Faber in February 2012. Alex is a regular panellist on the BBC Review Show and reviews books for The Observer and the New Statesman.

nullPoppy Shakespeare is a novel about mental illness by Clare Allan. The book was shortlisted for the BT Mind Book of the year 2007 and longlisted for the Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction 2007. Visit Clare Allan's author page.

nullRebekah Lattin-Rawstrone is a partner of Apis Books, an independent publishing company for shorter fiction. Home, published by Social Disease (2008), is her first novel, described as 'dark, perverse, convincing and compassionate - an extremely strong first novel'. Visit Rebekah Lattin-Rawstrone's website.

null Anthony Cartwright studied at UEA - having worked in factories, meatpacking plants, pubs and warehouses and with London Underground, in 1998 he trained as an English teacher. His debut, The Afterglow won much acclaim - and a Betty Trask Award in 2004. Heartland was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers' Best Novel in 2010. His latest novel is How I Killed Margaret Thatcher.

null Julia Stuart is a novelist and award-winning journalist - in 1999, she won the periodicals category of the Amnesty International UK Media Awards. Her first novel, The Matchmaker of Périgord was published in 2007. In 2010, her second novel, Balthazar Jones and the Tower of London Zoo was published - as The Tower, the Zoo, and the Tortoise in America, it became a New York Times bestseller, a national bestseller, and an NRP Best Book of the Year. Her latest novel, The Pigeon Pie Mystery, was published in August 2012 and was selected as an Book of the Week.


nullChloe Aridjis was born in New York and grew up in the Netherlands and Mexico City. After receiving a BA from Harvard, she went on to receive a PhD at Oxford. Her first novel Book of Clouds was described as an "exceptional debut novel" in The Independent. Also, published in Holland and France, it won the Prix du Premier Roman Etranger in 2009. Her second novel, Asunder, was published by Chatto & Windus in 2013. Visit Chloe Aridjis' author page.

nullSarah Waters is the author of five novels: Tipping the Velvet (1998), which won the Betty Trask Award; Affinity (1999), which won the Somerset Maugham Award, the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award; Fingersmith (2002) which was short-listed for the Man Booker Prize and the Orange Prize; The Night Watch (2006) which was shortlisted for the Orange Prize and the Man Booker Prize; and The Little Stranger (2009), which was shortlisted for the Man Booker.

nullMonica Ali showed the first four chapters to a friend who had a temporary job at a publishing company and, within a couple of weeks, received the offer of a publishing contract. The novel, which propelled her onto Granta's list of Best Young British Novelists of the Decade and went on to be translated into thirty languages, was published in 2003 under the title Brick Lane. Visit Monica Ali's website.

nullSadie Jones's first novel, The Outcast, won the UK's coveted 2008 Costa First Novel Award and was a finalist for the Orange Prize and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for First Fiction. Her second novel, Small Wars, was published in 2009.

nullJon Canter is a television comedy writer and novelist. Seeds of Greatness, a comic story inspired by his upbringing, was published in 2006, A Short Gentleman in 2009 and Worth in 2011. Since 2008 he has been a regular contributor to the Guardian's comment pages.

nullJoanna Briscoe's first novel, Mothers and Other Lovers was published in 1994 and won a Betty Trask Award. She then spent time in New York researching her second novel, Skin. Sleep With Me, published by Bloomsbury in 2005 and in nine other countries, including the US, was widely reviewed and adapted for television by Andrew Davies. Her latest novel is You. Visit Joanna Briscoe's website.

nullRupert Thomson is the author of eight highly acclaimed novels, Dreams of Leaving, The Five Gates of Hell, Air and Fire, The Insult, Soft, The Book of Revelation, Divided Kingdom and Death of a Murderer, which was shortlisted for the 2008 Costa Novel Award. His memoir This Party's Got to Stop was published by Granta Books in 2009.

nullJulie Myerson is the author of eight novels and three works of non-fiction. Her first novel was Sleepwalking and her latest is Then, which The Observer described as "a bold, uncompromising book written with a deftness of touch that marks out Myerson as a truly interesting and risk-taking author".

nullRoss Raisin's debut novel God's Own Country was shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award and the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, and won a Betty Trask Award. The Washington Post compared the novel favourably to A Clockwork Orange: "more convincingly registers the internal logic of unredeemable delinquency." In April 2009 he won the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award. His new novel is Waterland. Visit Ross Raisin's author page.

null Joshua Ferris' first novel, Then We Came To The End, has been published in twenty-five languages, was a finalist for the finalist for the National Book Award, and received the 2007 PEN/Hemingway Award. His second novel The Unnamed was published in January 2010 and his third, To Rise Again At A Decent Hour comes out this year.

null Tom Rachman's debut novel The Imperfectionists was published in 2010 by Random House in the US and Quercus in the UK. The book has been published in twelve languages. The Imperfectionists was longlisted for the The Giller Prize, and Rachman's second novel, The Rise and Fall of Great Powers, will be published by Text in February 2014.

null Jeremy Page's first book, Salt was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers Prize and the Jelf Award. His second book, The Wake won the prize for fiction at the East Anglian book awards and was shortlisted for the New Angle Prize. His third novel, The Collector of Lost Things has just been published by Little Brown. He is also a scriptwriter, with a film made for Channel 4, Scapegoat.

nullAfter a short stint working for Random House, Naomi Wood wrote her first novel, The Godless Boys was published in the UK (Picador) and Norway (Font) in 2011. She then spent time as a fully-funded resident scholar at the Library of Congress in Washington DC, and was the British Library's 2012 Eccles Centre Writer in Resident. Her second novel, Mrs. Hemingway will be published in the US, UK, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Russia and Spain.

null Evie Wyld runs Review, a small independent bookshop in Peckham, south London. Her first novel, After the Fire, a Still Small Voice, won the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and a Betty Trask Award. She was also short listed for the Orange Prize for New Writers and the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. She is included in Granta's list of Best of Young British Novelists 2013. Her second novel All the Birds, Singing was published in June 2013 from Jonathan Cape and in 2014 from Pantheon in the US and was shortlisted for the Costa Novel Prize.