1. Courses
  2. Graduate Destinations
  3. Newsrooms and studios
  4. Student work
  5. Academic staff
  6. Research
  7. Events
  8. Centre for Creative Writing, Translation and Publishing
  1. The Centre for Creative Writing
    1. Courses
    2. You will be taught by
    3. Student Successes
    4. Industry Links
    5. News
    6. Showcases

The Centre for Creative Writing

The Centre for Creative Writing at City University London is a special place.

We believe in enabling writers to be published, produced and performed. That is why our MAs demand the completion of either a full-length play, novel, screenplay or non-fiction book - for the simple reason that there is no other way to learn how to write. You complete the work and you make it ready to go out there and be sold.

The new joint MA in creative writing and publishing takes this a step further, providing new writers with an in-depth knowledge of the publishing industry. On this pathway, you will develop your creative skills while learning about the business and how it's evolving so that the role of writer and producer are becoming intertwined.

Add to that our location in the heart of London - within walking distance of key agents, publishers, theatres, production companies. This gives us unparalleled links with industry professionals.  But it also means we can attract the very best writers - working writers - as tutors and mentors and lecturers.

Our students have gone on to....

Guest Writers visit every term

Every term, writers visit the Centre to give us insights into their work and working methods.

Recently we have had sessions with:

nullAli Smith is the author of six novels, including How To Be Both, which won the Costa Novel Award and was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize and the Folio Prize and the Bailey's Prize, Girl Meets Boy, and The Accidental, which won Whitbread (now Costa) Novel Award and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and the Orange (now Bailey's) Prize. She has also published four short story collections and two works of non-fiction, Artful and Shire.

nullKerry Hudson is the author of two novels, Tony Hogan Bought Me An Ice-Cream Float Before He Stole My Ma which was published in 2012 and was the winner of the Scottish First Book Award and shortlisted for the Southbank Sky Arts Literature Award, the Guardian First Book Award, the Green Carnation Prize, the Author’s Club First Novel Prize and the Polari First Book Award. Her second novel, Thirst, was published in 2014 and has been shortlisted for the Green Carnation Prize.

nullAlexander Masters is the author of Stuart: A Life Backwards, which won the Guardian First Book Award and the Hawthorden Prize; the book was also shortlisted for the Whitbread Book of the Year, the Samuel Johnson Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award in the USA. His second book, The Genius in my Basement, is a biography of the mathematician, Simon Norton.

nullHoward Jacobson is the author of thirteen novels and four works of non-fiction. He has won the Man Booker Prize (in 2010 for The Finkler Question), as well as being shortlisted in 2006 (Kalooki Nights) and 2014 (J). And he has twice won the Woodhouse Prize for comic fiction, with The Mighty Walzer in 2000 and Zoo Time in 2013.

nullMark Billingham is principally known as the author of twelve crime novels featuring D.I.Tom Thorne, as well as several other novels. He has won the Sherlock Award for "Best Detective Novel Created by a UK Author", and "Lazybones" won the Theakston's Old Peculiar Crime Novel of the Year Award 2004 and he won the same award in 2009 for his novel "Death Message". In The Dark was nominated for the CWA Gold Dagger. In 2011, he was inducted into the ITV Crime Thriller Awards Hall Of Fame.

nullIan Jack was Editor of the Independent on Sunday and then Granta. His is the author of four works of non-fiction, including The Country Formerly Known as Great Britain and Mofussil Junction. He now writes regularly for The Guardian in London and The Telegraph in Calcutta.

nullRachel Cusk is the author of eight novels, including Saving Agnes, Arlington Park, The Bradshaw Variations and most recently Outline, as well as two memoirs. She won the Whitbread (now Costa) First Novel Award in 1993 and the Somerset Maugham Award in 1997, as well as being shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award in 2003 and the Orange (now Baileys) Prize in 2007. She is currently working on a sequel to Outline, which was shortlisted for the Goldsmiths Prize for 'genuinely inventive fiction'.

null Sharon Bolton (who used to publish as S.J.Bolton) is the author of four novels in the Lacey Flint series, including Now You See Me and Lost. She is also the author of three other novels, including Blood Harvest which won 2010 CWA Gold Dagger Award, and Awakening which won the 2010 Mary Higgins Clark Award.....not to mention the Plume de Bronze for Now You See Me.