1. Graduate Destinations
  2. Journal
  3. James Cameron Memorial Lecture and Award
  4. Stern Fellowship
  5. 40th Anniversary
  6. Postgraduate journalism scholarships 2017
    1. Award winners
    2. Special awards
    3. Lectures

James Cameron Memorial Lecture and Award

The 2016 James Cameron Memorial Lecture

This year's lecture was given by Gideon Rachman of the Financial Times on Wednesday 19th October 2016. The topic of this lecture was Foreign reporting in the age of globalisation.

Read our coverage of the event or view the video below

Find out more about Gideon's work at the Financial Times.

The James Cameron Memorial Lecture series and award

When James Cameron died in 1985, a Trust was set up in his memory to award an annual prize to a journalist whose work in the previous year had been "in the Cameron tradition". An annual memorial lecture was also established.

In the following 30 years, Cameron Award winners have included Michael Buerk, John Simpson, Bridget Kendall, Fergal Keane, Lindsay Hilsum and Gary Younge.

The James Cameron Memorial Lecture has been delivered by a distinguished group of speakers including Ben Bradlee, Michael Grade, Alan Rusbridger, Tony Benn, Greg Dyke and Sir Max Hastings.

Professor Hugh Stephenson organised the lectures and chaired the judging panel from the inaugural lecture in 1987 to 2010. From 2011 this was taken over jointly by Professor Howard Tumber and Professor George Brock.

Find us

City, University of London

Northampton Square

London EC1V 0HB

United Kingdom

Back to top

City, University of London is an independent member institution of the University of London. Established by Royal Charter in 1836, the University of London consists of 18 independent member institutions with outstanding global reputations and several prestigious central academic bodies and activities.