About City
  1. Rector & President
  2. City Information
  3. Education
  4. City & the community
  5. Sustainable City
  6. Working at City
  7. Facts about City
  8. International Partnerships
  1. Governance
  2. Council, Senate & committees
  3. Senate
    1. Senate members
About City


Function and responsibilities

Senate is the academic authority responsible for the maintenance of academic quality and standards. According to the City's Royal Charter, Senate has delegated authority from the Council to provide guidance and advice on academic matters as required. Among its many duties are to regulate the approval of all educational programmes as well as develop and approve related policies and procedures. It also approves the academic calendar and regulations for student discipline. It finally regulates validation and other academic partnerships with other third parties for example, the Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance.

It has overall a vital role in ensuring that the City's academic reputation is maintained and that the institution continuously seeks to improve the quality of its education and research by reviewing best practice and innovation.

The structure of Senate and its sub-committees can be found in Ordinance K.1.


Senate comprises 38 members and its diverse composition is intended to ensure that a wide range of views are represented in a forum for healthy debate. Just over the half membership is elected by the academic staff and at least two members will be elected from each of the Board of Studies areas. The balance comprises ex-officio members, Chairs of Senate Committees, Academic members of the Executive and up to five student members. The student members include the President of the Students' Union, the Vice-President Education, the Vice-President Activities & Development. The other two students are nominated by the Trustee Board ensuring that the student members include at least one undergraduate, one postgraduate taught and one postgraduate research student.

Senate draws its membership from the City's staff and students, which means there are no independent members. There is however an open invitation for independent members of Council to attend Senate meetings.

The Chair and delegation of Powers

The President chairs Senate as the City's senior academic officer in order to ensure academic quality and standards. The College Secretary acts as Committee Secretary. In addition, Senate delegates some decisions and monitoring to sub-committees, especially Boards of Studies, and to the President who in turn can delegate to senior staff. The approvals required for each of Senate's decision-making powers is set out in Regulation 27.

Staff and students are encouraged to get involved with Senate by standing for election or becoming involved in Senate's sub-committees especially Boards of Studies. Student representatives actively help to improve the student experience.

Anyone in the City community who has a concern in respect of academic quality and standards may wish to discuss it with their line manager, staff/student representative or a member of Senate who can advise on the best way of progressing the matter.

Further information

The powers and composition of Senate are set out in the Ordinances, and if you would like a more detailed explanation of what Senate does, please see the document on the Role of Senate.

You can also view Agendas, papers and minutes of Senate meetings.

Finally, Senate has the authority to approve the appointment of Honorary Visiting Professorships (HVPs). HVPs are unpaid appointments that need to be approved by Board of Studies before they come to Senate for final approval. Please contact the Governance Team if you require the HVP form.

The current membership of Senate is listed below

Ex-Officio Members
President (Chair) Professor Sir Paul Curran
Vice-President (Strategy & Planning) (Deputy Chair) Professor Richard Verrall
Deputy President Professor David Bolton
Vice-President (Research & Enterprise) Professor Andrew Jones
Vice-President (International) and Chair of Board of Studies in Health Sciences Professor Stanton Newman
Chair of Board of Studies in Arts & Social Sciences Professor Laurence Solkin
Chair of Board of Studies in Business Studies Professor Marianne Lewis
Chair of Board of Studies in Mathematics, Computer Science & Engineering Professor Roger Crouch
Chair of Board of Studies in Law Professor Carl Stychin
Chair of Board of Studies in Learning Development Dr Pam Parker
Chair of Academic Governance Committee Professor Richard Verrall
Chair of Research Ethics Committee Professor Ron Douglas
Chair of Validation & Institutional Partnerships Committee Professor Steve Stanton
Director of Student & Academic Services Ms Susannah Marsden
Non Ex-Officio Members
Mathematics, Computer Science & Engineering                                     Dr Arti Agrawal
Health Sciences Ms Julie Attenborough
Business Professor Charles Baden-Fuller
Law Professor Susan Blake
Arts & Social Sciences Professor Mireia Jofre-Bonet
Arts & Social Sciences Dr Rachel Cohen (Senior Elected Senator)
Health Sciences Dr Chris Flood
Business Professor Anthony Neuberger
Busines Dr Amanda Goodall
Health Sciences Professor Chris Hull
Arts & Social Sciences Professor Giulia Iori
Mathematics, Computer Science & Engineering Dr Anton Cox
Mathematics, Computer Science & Engineering Professor Abdulnaser Sayma
Law Mr Keith Simpson
Law Mr Sarwan Singh
Visiting Academic Staff Mr Peter Woodward
Student Members
President of the Students' Union                                                                                  Mr Yusuf Ahmad
Vice-President, Education, of the Students' Union Mr Zain Ismail
Vice-President, Activities & Development, of the Students' Union Mr Sheikh Hassan
Postgraduate Taught Student Representative Ms Laura Thompson
Research Student vacancy

Senate's sub-committees are as follows:

Find us

City, University of London

Northampton Square

London EC1V 0HB

United Kingdom

Back to top

City, University of London is an independent member institution of the University of London. Established by Royal Charter in 1836, the University of London consists of 18 independent member institutions with outstanding global reputations and several prestigious central academic bodies and activities.